Our Story

In 1998, Andy Elofson, a social worker with Blue Earth County, met with a young man who was expelled for misusing school computers. In an effort to help, Andy gave him an old computer the county wasn't using anymore. Six months later, the young man was creating a positive future for himself and others by developing web pages for local businesses and churches.

That is when PCs for People began. For the next 10 years, PCs for People operated out of a small office in Mankato, MN. Through the hard work of Andy and computer-savvy volunteers, the office's impact grew. 

Read more: Our Story

Our Impact

Population Served

our-impactTo receive a computer from PCs for People a potential recipient must be below the 200% poverty level, have a family member with a disability, or work with a social worker. Other examples of those who could qualify:

  • Adult & Child Mental Health Case Management
  • Employment Services
  • Medical Assistance 
  • MinnesotaCare
  • Food Support or Financial Assistance
  • Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
  • Section 8 or other Federal Public Housing Assistance
  • Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
  • The National School Lunch Program's "Free Lunch" Program
  • Head Start

Individuals receiving a computer are asked to provide a small donation, usually $35-50. Many times government programs that clients are involved in will cover the donation. Another service offered to eligible individuals, even if they never received a computer from PCs for People, is affordable computer repair. Individuals can bring in any computer and have it repaired for $25 in most cases.

Read more: Our Impact

What We Do

PCs for People is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit striving to bridge the digital divide by providing the necessary tools to put a functional computer into the hands of low-income individuals and get them online. 

Read more: What We Do

Our Board of Directors

Andrew Elofson - Chairman of the Board / Founder

Andy ElofsonEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Phone: 507-304-4291

Andrew Elofson, the founder of PCs for People, has worked as a licensed social worker for Blue Earth County for over 20 years. In this time, Andrew has developed an expertise in the areas of Youth Development, Child Mental Health, Adult Mental Health, and is currently working with adults and families who are homeless. Andrew utilizes his efforts as a social worker to help distribute computers to those most in need. Andrew has a Masters degree in Education and lives in St. Peter MN with his wife and 6 children. In 1998, Blue Earth County gave Andrew the first computer to be donated. After 4 months, 30 more computers were donated and Andrew knew he needed help to grow the program. He obtained a county-owned house, developed relationships throughout the community, found a group of interested high school students and established PCs for People. Since then, PCs For People has donated thousands of computers to those who would not otherwise have the opportunity to easily access technology and own a computer.

Casey Sorensen - Executive Director

Casey SorensenEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Phone: 612-567-8435

Casey Sorensen is the Executive Director of PCs for People. He graduated from Minnesota State University Mankato with a degree in Computer Information Systems. While he attended MSU, Casey volunteered for a small county run program called PCs for People. After college Casey worked as a Technology Consultant with Deloitte Consulting. Casey enjoyed the travel and challenges of the work, but decided he was ready for a career change. Casey reconnected with Andrew Elofson and they decided to formalize and expand the PCs for People program. In 2008 Casey incorporated and established PCs for People as a 501(c)(3) non-profit and opened up the corporate headquarters in St. Paul, MN. PCs for People has since grown to distribute thousands of computers each year to families in need.

Meet the rest of Our Board of Directors


  • 1
  • 2